Singapore Gunpla Society

Please remember to introduce yourself to everyone before heading off into the other sections.
This is just pure courtesy.

From your ~Admins~
Singapore Gunpla Society

Gundam modelling society located in Singapore for everyone around the world

Dear all, this forum will be shut down in June 2017 due to low activity.

Sanding is a real messy job

gooberdz
    SGGS Lurker
    SGGS Lurker

Sanding is a real messy job

Post by gooberdz on Mon 20 Oct 2014, 8:13 pm

What do you do to keep things clean when you're sanding or cutting of nub marks?

I just started practicing sanding off nub marks, and its just such a mess. I also noticed that I was breathing in a lot of dust particles while doing this. That got me rather worried and I put on my new respirator (which was meant to protect myself from inhaling the fumes from spraying top coat)

Is there anything that you guys do to manage the dust? Do you use a mask while sanding? Is sanding with water a better solution?

Also, what sandpaper do you use to achieve the same shine on the plastic after removing the nubs? Because my 6 sided nail file + using 1200 grit sand paper still leaves some really small visible scratches even though its been buffed and feels totally ok.

Thanks!

sliver
    Admin
    Admin

Fun Facts
    Nickname: Mighty Banhammer
    Friendliness Level:
    90/100  (90/100)
    Tolerance Level to BS:
    0/100  (0/100)

Re: Sanding is a real messy job

Post by sliver on Mon 20 Oct 2014, 9:24 pm

Wetsanding would address yr concern to a large extend. And cleaner for yr surrounding, less cleaning up.

For yr concern abt the nubmarks, u might wan to refer to the tutorial by landel bro here
    Hope it helps

dydee
    SGGS Senior Member
    SGGS Senior Member

Fun Facts
    Nickname: Dee Chen
    Friendliness Level:
    50/100  (50/100)
    Tolerance Level to BS:
    0/100  (0/100)

Post by dydee on Mon 20 Oct 2014, 10:03 pm